Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Painting the room Black, just seems wrong.

6K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  davimill 
#1 ·
Right now I feel certifiably insane. Anyone remember the first time they bought black paint and started painting the room Black?! This just seems wrong for some reason. All my life I have painted rooms white, cream, almond, ... and tried my best to make them look super nice like a model home. And now I find myself painting over the white walls I so carefully painted about a year ago, all because I caught the projector bug! So out comes the TV and in with the 120" AT screen. Since this is my first build, will you help me with a question I have? I don't have access to rigid fiberglass. I want to put some on the wall behind the screen. What else can I use? I read that someone used Roxul? If so, do I need to cover the Roxul with black fabric? Can I use the pink stuff? I can go about 12 inches thick.

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
I work in a theatre, so black walls don't feel as foreign to me as that do to others. But the first time most people get themselves into a space that doesn't have light-reflective surfaces, it's unnerving.

The black panels on the powder-blue walls look really nice. I like the contrast there. Perhaps this throws me into the crazy bucket with the rest of you, but I think darker panels look better than lighter ones... even if it isn't a high contrast with the background color.

Question for the OP: Is that a gloss black, or is the paint still wet in those pics?

#5 ·
The paint was still wet. It's Flat Black. Things are progressing, slowly but surely. I picked up some black burlap today to cover the Roxul.

Attachments

Reactions: NBPk402
#8 ·
I love that feeling. Good to know about dark red.

#11 ·