Funny Encounters with Sales People - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 58 Old 07-03-12, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
Silly Girl!
Funny Encounters with Sales People

Please share your funny stories about encounters with HT sales people. I think it is best if we don't mention store or company names to keep from ruffling feathers - just say "big box", "on line", "store", etc.

I will start.

Several years ago, I walked into a big box store to buy some inexpensive component cables. I found a set made by AR. I had used theirs before and knew that the quality was adequate for my needs.

Salesman walks up - "Why are you buying those? These are MUCH better." Of course, he had in his hand a famous brand that was 4x the price of the ARs. I told him that the ARs were perfectly fine, that I am an electrical engineer and "cables are cables."

He persisted... I told him that I had been involved in hifi/stereo since before he was born. He said "That's impossible." I told him that, my, he did not look like he was 45.

I walked away, perfectly happy with my $12 cables.

Hug your pet today!
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 58 Old 07-03-12, 07:25 AM
Senior Shackster
I walked into one storefront out of curiosity, and was ushered into a demo room. When the demo was over the girl asked my impressions.
Me: It was slightly better than my current living room system.
Her: So you would buy this system?
Me: That depends. What is the price?
Her: $6000
Me: not a chance
Her: but you admitted this is better than your current system
Me: slightly better, but my current system cost me $2200. Another $100 for rears and a 2nd $100 sub and my system would trounce this for $2400.
Her: but surely you can appreciate the simplicity of this system?
Me: I acknowledge that others might appreciate the simplicity.
Her: so you would recommend this system to others?
Me: No, I would recommend a $2400 system and help them set it up.

People think I'm strange, does it make me a stranger?