Home theater visit with forum buddy... - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 4 Old 06-17-06, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
HTS Hillbilly
HTS Administrator
I'm a redneck!
My System
Home theater visit with forum buddy...

I thought I'd share a summary of my experience when I visited forum buddy JimP's home this past week. Jim was kind enough to trust me with his Yamaha receiver and a couple of very nice speaker stands to use as I review the SVS SBS-01 5.1 Surround system.

You know when someone tells ya they live on Olympic off Jasime Hill... just past the lake... it's gotta be nice. I'm not sure which was more impressive... the home or the home theater. Of course Jim is a of a nice guy too! I've been chatting with Jim for about two years or so I suppose. I think we actually first started chatting at AVS in the HDTV thread for Alabama. Anyway... we've kept in touch since we started and we've threatened getting together several times... finally we did. This is actually the first time I've been able to hear and see another HT forum buddy's home theater. I've seen some of Rodny Alvarez's system but I've not ever sat down and had a listen after he finished... I'm sure I will eventually.

I was immediately impressed with Jim's setup. He has everything arranged very well. He went over most all of his equipment with me and then we watched and listened.

One thing I got to see in action was the Velodyne SMS-1 sub eq. It was simple for Jim too hook up his mic and display the response graph on his Sony 60" Wega. He has his Velodyne HGS-15 dialed in quite nicely.

Jim has Atlantic Technology 8200's in a 7.1 configuration powered by a Rotel 1095. He uses the B&K Ref 50 for the brains and the main source is the Denon 5900. Once again... all of this I was seeing and hearing for the first time.