How do you afford HT... what's your profession? - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 108 Old 01-06-08, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
How do you afford HT... what's your profession?

I work a full time job for an airline, plus I own my own auto detailing business. Basically, I work my butt off, putting in 14-16 hours a day sometimes.
Even with all this work, I strugle to afford my addiction the the HT hobby. I've been building my current system for about 4 years now, mainly concentrating on the audio portion. It's not high end equiptment, but it makes me smile

Last thing on my list is a front projector, and electric screen. But it seems I can never get enough money to get those 2 items Even looking around for used equiptment, I just can't seem to get the funds together. Something more important always comes up(clothes for daughter, toy's, food, mortage, etc...)

I see a lot of you guys spending ten's of thousands of dollars on your system, and I'm curious what you do for a living?
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 108 Old 01-06-08, 11:23 AM
Senior Shackster
Re: What do you guys do for a living?

A lot of guys have turned to DIY, through the guidance of this site and others, in order to afford more home theater than they could buy at the retail stores. By doing it yourself, you also gain a sense of pride and satisfaction along with a greater understanding of the things you enjoy.

If you're reasonably handy and motivated to do so, you can build your own speakers, sub, PJ screen and entire home theater room. That's not to say it's easy! Just possible. Get to know some other DFW enthusiasts or come down to Houston for our Home Theater DIY meets. I think you'll find that this community is very willing to help.

Regarding the expensive hobby we've chosen, unfortunately that's the name of the game. There will always be more out there that I want and can't afford. Though deal hunting on,, and, you can find some real gems over time.