Black Widow. The one for me? We'll see! - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 7 Old 09-02-10, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Black Widow. The one for me? We'll see!

Hey all...

I just came across this forum the other day and am intrigued by everything that is in the DIY section! I give big props to mechman for all the many hours he has dedicated to data collection and formula "formulating"! Oh and thanks in advance to everyone else that had/has an idea for a screen and taking a stab it. I haven't decide how deep I want to go with my projects but for now I am in need of a serious upgrade from my current screen.

I have been using a Draper Luma glass beaded screen for over 2 years now and I would say that it was an improvement over my first BOC screen but it had alot of flaws. I got 2 8' rollup screens from my college when we were cleaning out some storage closests. These were no doubt quite expensive at the time and getting them for free is super! Anyways, one of them had crayon marks on it but I was able to make an 80" screen out it. After moving into a different apt I finally had a wall long enough for the other screen. I hung it and it was in fairly good shape but there are still a few scratches in it that annoy me when I notice them. And that brings me to my current position. I came across Black Diamond II material and wondered what was so great about it and stumbled upon Black Widow, an even cooler name! After looking at pages and pages of spectrums I decided that I was gonna build a new screen. Because the old one just isn't cutting it anymore.

Black Widow. The one for me? We'll see!-102_1056.jpg
No that's not a spot on your monitor! That's the scratch and a nice swirl. Really shows up with the flash.

Black Widow. The one for me? We'll see!-102_1055.jpg
Notice how retro-reflective this "Retro" screen is!

Here's some shots in action.

Black Widow. The one for me? We'll see!-102_1072.jpg
On-Axis Lights On