My Zaph ZD3C Center Channel Project - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 34 Old 12-06-08, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
My Zaph ZD3C Center Channel Project

My Zaph ZD3C Center Channel Project (Working slowly on my 5.1 system.)

I upgraded my house a few months ago and the family room was wired for 5.1 sound with speaker wires provided through the walls in the right places. I have been planning on replacing the existing JBLs that the last owner left in place and update the system a little at a time. I bought the Onkyo 605 this Summer first before anything else and it was a great upgrade from my 30 year old amp. Now I am working on the speaker system.

I have been building speakers using PE enclosures because I do not have wood working tools right now. When it comes time for the front baffle treatment, I need to locate a local wood working shop for the speaker holes and routing to countersink the speaker baffle so that the speaker will mount flush.

I am not a speaker expert but with great DIY speaker plans available including cabinet and cross over designs and knowing enough about electronics to read schematics and put the components of a cross over together, I have been successful in building a few speakers for my personal needs.