Need help with EV speakers - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 5 Old 05-23-09, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
Head Coach
Need help with EV speakers

I am a general manager of an ice rink and I went out and bought about $20,000.00 worth of club lighting last year. Before I went out and invested in this lighting, I contacted the manufacture of the speakers (17 of them) that are hanging over the ice in the overhead.

It took a year and a half to get the distributor out to check on the speakers because some were working and others were not.

Yesterday they came in and took 10 speakers down out of 17. When I asked them what do they think was wrong, they said that we had over-driven them and they went bad. Even though they have a 3 year warranty, the speakers are now 4 years old. I missed the cut-off date becuae they would bet back to me a year and a half ago. So I eat big deal, I guess.

However, to replace them it's going to cost $385 for the pair, will need 5 new pairs.

So, the nut job that I am, I took off the screen and unscrewed the speaker from the housing and noticed that at the bottom of the speaker was a circut board with two large ceramic resistors and a couple of large capacitors mounted to the board.

Well, when I looked inside, one of the ceramic resistors was on the board and sitting in the bottom of the housing. So I opened a couple more bad speakers and several had both ceramic resistors and a capacitor missing of the board and sitting in the bottom of the housing.

Now, I called the guys that pulled them off the ceiling and they told me that I drove them too hard. But here's my question.....

If I drove them to distruction, then why are there still 7 in the overhead that work?

Now logic would dictate that if I drove them all the same speed because they are all daisy chained together, would they be all bad?