proven design. - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 12 Old 02-05-08, 04:31 PM
proven design.

So well i am a noob. I have been poking around the internet with interest in building my own HT setup. It started forever ago when a bud of mine purchased some Klipsch RF7 towers. I have been waiting for the right time to purchase my own. perhaps some RF83s. Unfortunately the time never came. It dawned on me recently that there must be people out there building their own stuff. I love tinkering and building things. Im the kind of person that would get a huge kick out of building something at home that could compete or beat a commercial setup for a fraction of the cost. Anyway, here is my goal. Hopefully im in the right place with the right people who can help. What i like about the RF& is the clarity, power and volume. You turn them up and they just get louder. Very impressive to me. my goal is too at least match their performance in a home made cabinet. from there id like to build sensible, matching center and rears followed by a sub. My first instinct is to build a smaller 5.1 system to practice with, see if im cut out to be messing with this stuff. if im successful enough then ill go for broke and build my Klipsch killers.