Riser Builds - Ultimax 15s - LF Advice/Calculations - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 6 Old 09-12-16, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Riser Builds - Ultimax 15s - LF Advice/Calculations

Hello,

I am fairly new to the home theater scene - see thread here: http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...ce-driver.html - but intend on going "all out"!!

A quick run down of my current set-up:

Yamaha A3060 Receiver
2x Crown XLS 1502 Amplifiers powering one subwoofer each
2x Stereo Integrity DS4-18" subwoofers in custom 4.5 cubic foot sealed boxes (waiting for aluminum feet to be made)
Axiom M80 Towers
Axiom VP180 Center
Axiom QS8 Surrounds
Sony VPL-HW45ES Projector
Silver Ticket 100" 16:9 Screen

I will be adding a riser for my rear seats and will be turning them into two separate subwoofer boxes.

From the research I have done, I have settled on using one Dayton Audio Ultimax 15" subwoofer in each riser box, ported. http://www.daytonaudio.com/index.php...-per-coil.html

The riser will be approximately 10" total height and I am estimating a 'naked' internal volume of approximately 14.5 cubic feet PER box.

My question is this, how large (length and diameter) of ports should I use for each box? I am (obviously) going for low frequencies with this set-up. I believe I should be hitting around 15hz but am not positive on that nor about how to design the ports, all help is appreciated!

We have leftover hardwood flooring from the renovations completed upstairs and will be placing that on the surface of the riser, and there will be matte black sides all the way around (the sides will be 3/4" higher than the box so as to accommodate the 3/4" hardwood planks to ensure they are secure and flush - glued down), I will be sure to upload more photos once everything is complete.

Thanks in advance for your help, I have attached some photos of my current set-up as well as a rough excel-sketch of the proposed riser!
Attached Thumbnails