Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

confuse about box size for diy sub

3K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  apilon 
#1 ·
Good evening

I am thinking about building a new subwoofer using this driver dayton Audio RSS390HO-4 15" . Still undecided if i will go vented or sealed. reading the info about this driver on Parts-Express website. In the optimum cabinet size recommended by using BassBox 6 they recommend a box size of 1.58 Cu Feet for the sealed one or 2.72Cu feet for the vented one. Yet they are offering a 3 Cu feet knock down cabinet to mount this driver .

So I am confuse. Is 1.58 Cu feet is the smallest i can go for a sealed version and 2.72 Cu feet for the vented version ? Also what is the sealed F3 or vented F3 numbers refers to

I know pretty basic questions i guess but being a newbie i am just trying to understand

Thanks for your help.

Alain

#3 ·
I can see why you're confused; PE isn't providing an "optimum" configuration, in spite of the fact they have a section called just that. The F3 is a dead giveaway.

A quality 15" driver - which that one is - should have no issue with an F3 in the mid 20Hz range, a full octave below PE's optimum config provides. That means a 1.5 ft^3 box is way too small and the driver doesn't have sufficient cabinet volume to work with. You would have to add a Linkwitz Transform with a DSP - and a lot of power - to flatten out the response curve and get any output into the 20's. You would be better served with the larger enclosure.

FWIW, DIY Sound Group makes those cabinets for PE. You can check out their website for other options.

#4 ·
Thanks for the reply Jman. I went to Dayton website and found the same information about box size that was displayed in PE site. I do not know bass box but i entered the RSS390HO driver into Winisd and it returned a suggested box of 1.687 Ft 3 with a FSC of 46,45 and QTC of .703. If i enter the suggested 1,58 Ft 3 i get a FSC of 47,52 and a QTC of .718