Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Contemplating my next project

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Exocer 
#1 ·
I'm nearing the completion of my first DIY project (PR sub end-table) and I'm already scheming for my next.

With a budget of somewhere between $300 and $500 for components (both speakers together) (not counting box-building materials), I'd like to build some left and right mains. I want something that will run well off of 50w RMS (in HK watts). I am still very new to the DIY HT stuff and ask for advice in design and component selection.

I like the idea of a 3-way WMTM design. Would I have enough power from my receiver to make it worth my while? I'll eventually go for a seperate amp, but for now I'm going to stick with what I have (HK AVR-240).

I welcome any arguments for this or other designs.

Thanks -

-Ben

PS. I've posted an identical thread at AVS. I hope I'm not breaking protocol.

#2 ·
I'd stick with proven designs if I were you and just beginning. Designing a network is a real science, not easy at all. Designing a 3 way is VERY difficult.

Take a peek at the DIY Natlie P's and I'd also take a hard look at www.gr-research.com DIY kits. Their AV2's are right in your ballpark and would be a great speaker to build. I have 5 of them :D

Darren

#5 ·
Since you already have a sub to handle the low stuff, I'd stick with a MTM or even just a TM design to get the best performance with the budget you've given..

To that end, I might look at some of the kits from Zalytron or Madisound.
Zalytron probably has better prices, but Elliot (the owner/operator?) can come across a little "gruff". Anyway, I'm digressing.. I'd take a look at the "Hero" or maybe the the "HiqAcess" kit. Both are designed by the DIY god Joe D/Appolito and use a Hiquphon tweeter, one of the better tweeters out there right now. If you can get up to $587, I've "seen" someone build the Mentor 5 and they like it a lot.