Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

DCX-2496 and a DSP-1124 is this a match made in heaven?

2K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  Gopal 
#1 ·
It seems like combining these two products might be the ticket for HT room EQ if your processor doesn't have it built in. I am new to this so if there is a flaw to my thinking please let me know. I am pretty much 95% HT use.

I happen to have an extra 5ch amp laying around (another in use) so I was thinking I would use the DCX on LCR to EQ and actively X-over (filter may be a better word) the speakers to bi amplify (which my speakers set up for from Linn) these speakers then use the BFD for sub.
My processor LMC-1 from Emotiva will allow me to turn off front x-over while still passing along all LFE info from 5.1 so I would run mains with a 70hz (example only, I would need input from you experts) to whatever cutoff the 5" mid would use with one channel of amplification and send the upper frequencies to high input on my speakers through another amp channel. I would leave internal speaker x-overs intact since I am a novice and can't design the proper active only x-over, the DCX would be an electronic filter limiting the range of frequencies to each input of the speakers.

What say you'all, good idea or a waste of time and money?

If I wasn't going to bi amp I still think the DCX is better (for better than average HT equip use) than the DEQ since it can do mains and sub or all three fronts etc.. if I don't need audiophile perfection just good sound or am I wrong on this.

See less See more
#3 ·
So all these receivers that include auto EQ have little to no benefit in non LFE circuits?
Do you also consider Bi amping channels which would double the power to those speakers not worth the time and work involved vs the gain you might see in headroom and possible clarity. As a quick note towards bi amping I do play movies in the upper end of volume that is still clear and non fatiguing.