Question for other Klipsch RB35 owners - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 3 Old 01-07-11, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Question for other Klipsch RB35 owners

Hi, newbie here but googling found at least one other RB-35 owner here... (selling a pair - I'm interested but can't reply yet as a newbie)

Recently (last month) I bought a pair of Klipsch RB-35s (cherry vinyl) on audiogon - decent price, great condition (seller said bought them new years ago, used for a few months, boxed back up for years) - but noticed the labels on the rear were not normal (silver foil, not the usual design, no signature, etc - plus it listed "75W max" when the RB35s are rated for 125W (cont.)
- the boxes they shipped in looked legit but did not have any SN/PN label on the box (as did my RB81s)

And not only that, - the backs are missing the threaded insert (in the keyhole mount).

I took the front off and neither of the drivers has any label (the woofer had what appeared to be a spot where a label was, but gone) - although the woofer bracket had "klipsch" molded into it.

lifted the foam batting (skimpy compared to the RB-81s I have, which has all walls covered) and the crossover board had the klipsch name/logo on one of the large caps. (didn't notice that when I had my RB-81s apart but I didn't look for it either - but seemed odd for a capacitor but my Electr. exp is not from comml audio products...)

They seem OK (unlike one of the RB-81s I had which had a tweeter 3db down, although the rb35's neo magnet tweeter is tiny compared to the 81s, but that's another story...)

I wrote the seller about this (with images/pix's) to ask about this (and where it bought them years ago) - not expecting much but wanted to let him know (he had all positive feedback)...