Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Infinity Column II replacement?

8K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  Jungle Jack 
#1 ·
Hello all,

This being my first post here I hope I can live up to the standards that have been set.

Anyway, I have a pair of Infinity Column IIs that were submerged in a sewer backup in my studio. My insurance company has suggested replacing them with Definitive Technology's BP8060STs. I have no experience with this brand other than reviews I have read most of which seem promising. At first glance it seems like a good deal but I am wondering if I am missing anything that the members here might be able to enlighten a guy that really only knows PA and live performance. I feel I am traveling down the audiophile path but it's going to take some schooling.

I am a big fan of Infinity and pretty much all of the Harman owned labels like Crown, JBL, Lexicon and DBX. Like I said my experience is from the large format Macro-Tech type side of things instead of the delicate sound stage, personal euphoria of amazing sound. I would love to hear what you think about DT and maybe the different thought process involved in starting another expensive hobby..

#2 ·
Hello,
Welcome to HTS. If you were happy with the Infinity's, I recommend checking out Revels, JBL's, or Infinitys.
I have never owned a pair of Def Techs, but have certainly listened to many different Models. They make a quality Speaker. However, Speaker Preference is quite a personal thing so I would not agree to any Speakers that you have not at least had a chance to Audition.

How much money are they offering you for replacements. Or do they have a special relationship with Def. Tech where they get their Speakers at a much lower cost?