Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

PGA's The Mjolnir Theater Build

Tags
build ht pga
49K views 164 replies 17 participants last post by  phillihp23 
#1 ·
I'm a newbie to all this. Planning to put together a home theater. Not as detailed and intensive as yours though......$$$$$. Looking to get started on it in the next week or so.

Questions:

Issues:

1: what effect do vaulted ceilings ( my rooom has ) have on picture quality, light throw from the screen reflecting? Paint Ceiling Black?? Velvet around screen or paint front wall black ?

2: I have windows in the room I am going to turn into a HT, whats the best way to block them out??
I would like it to be removeable what ever the fix is. I was thinking some sort of styrofoam block with a felt covering??? Any ideas??

3: Room paint and light reflection?? I read a few articles and they insist on dark flat neutral colors. You did a great job with yours, making it usable and liveable to be in when not viewing film. (not morbid)

Room info:
The room is 15' long, 15' wide and 8' tall walls - vaulted ceilings
Wood floors, light colored walls (a light yellow/green/white called pampis grass)
When house was built had the room pre-wired for a projector on ceiling and 7.1 sound

Limited Budget 1st Build (theres always future builds ) $3000 approx.

Denon AVR1912 875w (need to purchase) cost $550
Elite EzFrame Fixed Frame Screen Cinegrey 106" cost $400 or 126" $500(need to purchase)
Epson Powerlite 3010 (need to purchase) cost $1600
Projector mount (need to purchase) cost $300-500
Definitive Technology speakers (have)
Blue ray Player (have)
Cable Box (have)

Any input advice for room or needed equipment would be great.

See less See more
#2 ·
Anyone have an opinion on which of these three projectors would be better?? Or other suggestion?

Mitsubishi HC4000
Panasonic PTAE4000
Epson Powerlite 3010

#3 ·
Well I found some reasonable prices: