Onkyo TX-SR506 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 8 Old 07-01-08, 06:03 PM
breathcontrol
Inactive

Onkyo TX-SR506

I am considering purchasing this receiver to upgrade my "out of the box" HT system. I plan to use it to run my 5.1 HT speakers plus 3 paris of ceiling speakers that run through a Jamo distribution box (currently running on an under-powered, old Pioneer receiver). I'm wondering if the zone 2 power supply will be strong enough to run 6 speakers simultaneously through the Jamo box. Specs say it has 75 watts per channel. Comments/suggestions? I am a novice.

Much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-02-08, 01:25 PM
Elite Shackster

Tony

My System
Re: Onkyo TX-SR506

Welcome to the Shack,

By running 6 speakers are you saying 3 on the left and 3 on the right channel? Your load would be down to two Ohms if each speaker is rated at 8ohms. This is not good at all and can cause damage to the receivers amp section. There is no receiver out there in your price range that can handle such a load your best option is to have a dedicated amp for each set of speakers (3 two channel amps) located in each area.

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system:
Sherwood/Newcastle R972, Mission 765's, SVS SBS02's, A/D/S MS3u sub, Yamaha YDG2030EQ
Yamaha KX-393 Tape deck, CDC 805 CD changer, Panasonic BD60, Sony turntable PS-T20
Panasonic TC-P50ST60, HD-PVR & WDTV Live, Harmony 900

post #3 of 8 Old 07-02-08, 01:53 PM
breathcontrol
Inactive

Thanks for the note.