Are Sherwood receivers good? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 19 Old 11-05-11, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Are Sherwood receivers good?

I am new to home theater. I have finally decided to take the plunge on a 2.0 setup. I will work my way up from there. But my question is are Sherwood receivers any good? What is the difference in Sherwood and Sherwood Newcastle? My budget is less than $400 and it seems like there are some in my price range. I welcome any direction and comments. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 11-05-11, 04:19 PM
Generic
Inactive

Re: Are Sherwood receivers good?

I'm sure others will jump in as well, but for $400, you could do so much better. Sherwood claims to make products for many brands, but I don't know what they are.

Check out these guys. http://www.accessories4less.com/make...ceivers/1.html

Onkyo seems to be really big, and maybe their AVRs have some better EQ software, but I like Marantz myself. You couldn't really go wrong with Marantz, Denon, or Onkyo for 2.0 sound.

I couldn't find what I was looking for, about 4 years ago when I started looking to build a 2.1 system, but double check and see if anyone is offering a low level RCA sub out with a adjustable crossover, just in case you want to add a sub later. Of, if you are going with full range monkey coffins, then that may or may not matter to you.
post #3 of 19 Old 11-05-11, 06:30 PM
Elite Shackster

Jack

Hello,
Sherwood is indeed the OEM for an amazing number of Brands almost entirely in the <$500 AVR Range. I agree with the myriad of choices you have through AC4L. Also, Newegg is selling the RX-V867 for $400 (800 MSRP) and they also have many sales during the Weekend in that range. However, AC4L is the place for values.
Cheers,
JJ

HT