Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread - Page 77 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #761 of 944 Old 05-28-13, 11:31 AM
Shackster
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 19
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Does anyone know if the settings for assignments and the Trinnov settings keep if you turn off the power button, or does it have to stay in standby mode to keep the settings? Since this is on the TV my wife uses, i don't get to use the surround sound very often, so I would rather turn the power off until I use it, but I am not sure if all the settings stay saved if the power button is turned off. Also, I keep all my gear on a UPS as we get a lot of power outages in my area as i live in a forest area. So if the power is out for longer than the UPS can hold the charge, does that lose the settings? If you know, please let me know.

Thanks

Mike
mike in ca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #762 of 944 Old 05-28-13, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
 
tonyvdb's Avatar
Tony
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Can
Posts: 15,054
My System
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

As long as it stays plugged in to the wall it should keep the settings for a couple weeks at least.

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system:
Sherwood/Newcastle R972, Mission 765's, SVS SBS02's, A/D/S MS3u sub, Yamaha YDG2030EQ
Yamaha KX-393 Tape deck, CDC 805 CD changer, Panasonic BD60, Sony turntable PS-T20
Panasonic TC-P50ST60, HD-PVR & WDTV Live, Harmony 900

tonyvdb is offline  
post #763 of 944 Old 05-28-13, 02:26 PM
Shackster
 
islandman2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

I always turn mine completely off. Never lost any settings.
islandman2020 is offline  
 
post #764 of 944 Old 05-28-13, 02:59 PM
Elite Shackster
 
tesseract's Avatar
2 channel view
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 3,697
My System
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Mine was unplugged and set aside for months, all settings were retained.

"I left in love, in laughter, and in truth and wherever truth, love and laughter abide, I am there in spirit." - Bill Hicks
tesseract is offline  
post #765 of 944 Old 05-28-13, 10:59 PM
Elite Shackster
Mike
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Dimas, CA
Posts: 1,633
My System
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Quote:
tonyvdb wrote: View Post
I have no idea why someone would buy a used 972 when you can get them brand new for $599 at accessories4less (not refurbished) with a 3 year warranty.
+1

The extra $ is worth the piece of mind just for the 3 year warranty on a receiver with a lot of known issues.

BeeMan458 wrote:

It's easier for you to prove I'm crazy than it is for me to prove I'm not.
sub_crazy is offline  
post #766 of 944 Old 06-01-13, 03:31 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 19
Angry Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Well i finally got the time to sit and watch a dvd today using my new R-972. Major problem! I tried everything I could think of and no matter what i tried, I could not get any audio using the HDMI inputs. I tried every port, several cables including the one that goes to the TV which i know works and not a peep of audio from any HDMI port. I had no problem getting audio from both my DVD and satellite box using optical, but nothing from the HDMI. Any suggestions, or do you think the unit arrived defective? It sounds pretty good with the optical, but I keep reading on here that the HDMI ports deliver better sound, so i really wanted to use them. I also ran the TRINNOV setup and for some reason it put all the information that should come from the center speaker to my left main speaker. When i changed to manual setup it worked fine. Have not had time to futz with that yet as i spent the last 5 hours trying to get the HDMI ports to work. I even hooked it up exactly the way it shows in the quick setup sheet and still nothing from the HDMI inputs. I also tried going just audio from my DVD player and then tried both audio and video since my player has two HDMI outputs; one for both A/V and one for just audio. The video worked but no audio. Either i am totally doing something wrong or the HDMI audio section of my recever is dead. Please send suggestions!!!

Mike
mike in ca is offline  
post #767 of 944 Old 06-01-13, 03:48 PM
Elite Shackster
 
JBrax's Avatar
Jeff
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,362
My System
Sounds as though it may be something in the audio settings menu. I'm not familiar with the Sherwood but I would start there. Hopefully a Sherwood owner chimes in soon.
JBrax is offline  
post #768 of 944 Old 06-01-13, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
 
tonyvdb's Avatar
Tony
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Can
Posts: 15,054
My System
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Hi Mike, have you gone into the user menu and made sure that you have the corresponding HDMI input assigned to the device your using?
EDIT: also make sure that you have the HDMI audio output set to OFF in the settings menu.

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system:
Sherwood/Newcastle R972, Mission 765's, SVS SBS02's, A/D/S MS3u sub, Yamaha YDG2030EQ
Yamaha KX-393 Tape deck, CDC 805 CD changer, Panasonic BD60, Sony turntable PS-T20
Panasonic TC-P50ST60, HD-PVR & WDTV Live, Harmony 900


Last edited by tonyvdb; 06-01-13 at 04:49 PM.
tonyvdb is offline  
post #769 of 944 Old 06-01-13, 04:55 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 19
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

Yes I ave tried pretty much every assignment setting there is. I tried just setting it to the HDMI and set it to the corresponding input number and i also tried auto detect. When I used the manual HDMI setting, the display on the receiver falshed the little red HDMI detect next to the surround speaker display, so it knew there was a signal there and it automatically chose the right port, but no sound. If i change it to optical it works fine. When I tried using the port on my DVD for both A/V and then connected the HDMI output of the receiver to the TV, it passed both video and audio to the TV, but no sound from the receiver. It really has me baffeled.
mike in ca is offline  
post #770 of 944 Old 06-01-13, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
 
tonyvdb's Avatar
Tony
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Can
Posts: 15,054
My System
Re: Sherwood/Newcastle R-972 Official Thread

just to make sure you saw my edit to my post above make sure that you have the HDMI audio output set to OFF in the settings menu.

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system:
Sherwood/Newcastle R972, Mission 765's, SVS SBS02's, A/D/S MS3u sub, Yamaha YDG2030EQ
Yamaha KX-393 Tape deck, CDC 805 CD changer, Panasonic BD60, Sony turntable PS-T20
Panasonic TC-P50ST60, HD-PVR & WDTV Live, Harmony 900

tonyvdb is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
impressions , r972 , sherwood or newcastle

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome