Is my receiver powerful enough for my speakers? - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 14 Old 09-18-12, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
Is my receiver powerful enough for my speakers?

Hey Guys,

I'm new and have some questions about receivers and speakers, specifically is my receiver powerful enough for my speakers? (am I running the chance of sending clipped wave forms to my speakers)

Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-57
Speakers: Martin Logan ElectroMotion Series ESL, FX2, C2, Dynamo 1000 subwoofer

What I'm getting to is...Should I buy another more powerful external amp?

Any recommendations?

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 14 Old 09-18-12, 11:59 PM
Re: Is my receiver powerful enough for my speakers?

Let me start off by saying welcome to the shack!!!

as for your question I am sorry you have received no replies....that sucks
unfortunately I have no knowledge on your particular setup, best of luck

cheers Brandon
post #3 of 14 Old 09-19-12, 02:54 AM

Your speakers have 91-94db/2.83V sensitivity, that mean 91-94db 3 feet away from speaker with about 1-2W (debends of speakers ohms).
Then every +3db needs double power, so you should be fine with your current 140W amp. Probably that is enough to bottom out those 5.25-6.5" cone drivers before clipping.

Manufacturer recommend +20W amp.

If you are after high spl's, you have wrong kind of speakers.

Last edited by Ile; 09-19-12 at 03:01 AM.
post #4 of 14 Old 09-19-12, 05:04 AM
Elite Shackster
Dale Rasco
My System
Your speakers are rated at 6ohms and the SC-57 supports 4,6 and 8 ohms. That being said my Axiom M-80's are 4 ohms, which my reciever supports as did the SC-57 that I reviewed last year. In both cases I found that having the extra headroom from an external amp (Emotiva XPA-5) alleviates the "strained" characteristics that are common in these scenarios.

Dale Rasco

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." -Thomas A. Edison

Dale Rasco and Temple of Boom REDUX