Anthem vs. Denon, thinking of going a new direction - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 5 Old 12-16-13, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Anthem vs. Denon, thinking of going a new direction

Hi guys and gals,

I'm looking at going a new direction with my AVR. I've been running Denon's since my 4306 in 2005, and have had a 4311 for the last two years. By and large they have performed admirably. My 4311 recently came down with an issue on the HDMI board, but it will be fixed under warranty. While it is away I have my trusty 4306 back in the system. Amazingly, I don't notice as much of a sonic difference from my 4311 as I thought I would.

This made me wonder, maybe I'd try a different flavor of room correction with my next AVR, and ARC gets rave reviews. Has anyone here made the switch from Audyssey XT/XT32 to ARC, or visa-versa, and what did they think?

I'm specifically eying the MRX-510. It has enough HDMI inputs, and I have an ATV2 for music streaming. I'm also curious about how buggy it is, if at all, and how well the video conversion works with DirecTV. One of the things I have loved about my Denons is how bullet proof they have been.

While the 4306/4311 have been solid workhorses, and I've admired that, they haven't ever made me love them like I did my old Yamaha/Adcom front end. I don't like YPAO, and I like room correction, hence Yammies not being on my list.

My set up is:

TV: Panasonic TC-P60ST60
Speakers: Def Tech Mythos STS, CS-8060HD, SR-8080BP (5-channel)
Subs: dual SVS PB-13 Ultra (BASH amp versions)
Blu-Ray: Sony BDP-S790
Apple TV2 streaming Apple Lossless
Adcom GCD-700 (barely ever used anymore)
PS3 for the occasional gaming session (not all that often anymore)
Harmony One remote