Upgrade RXV-375....AVR or Separates, suggestions - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 66 Old 02-21-14, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
My System
Upgrade RXV-375....AVR or Separates, suggestions

I currently have an RXV-375 that I have been using for about 6 months. It is the first AVR that I have had in quite a few years, and was basically an impulse, unexpected purchase with no research.

Should I choose to upgrade, there seems to be a vast sea of options not only in AVR's, but also in the choice of wether to go the AVR route or with a separate amp and processor.

I am open to suggestions for AVR's, and what reasons would influence anyones suggestion.

As far as separate components go, the reason I am thinking about this, is it would seem that one could purchase a somewhat permanent 5 or 7 channel amp, pair it with a current processor, then upgrade the processor as technology advances without having to replace the more permanent amplifier. Does this seem like a good train of thought? If I go this route, I am totally lost as to what to consider, so definitely open to suggestions to look into, again, with some input as to why you might recommend a particular type.

Use: 5.1 living room home theater/stereo setup.
Equipment: HSU HB1.2 and HC1.2 for L, R, and C. Surrounds to be ordered soon, possibly fluance bipole design.
Sub: PB2000, small possibility of pairing this up with a second sub in the future.
Sony 5100 Blu Ray
Apple TV
Older Panasonic 50" Flat Screen

Budget: $1,000-$1500

Thank you all for any help and suggestions.
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 66 Old 02-21-14, 08:14 PM
Elite Shackster
My System
Re: Upgrade RXV-375....AVR or Separates, suggestions

The challenge with a budget like that is your limited in what pre pros that are available. For $1500 you can get a great receiver that not only has all the best features but plenty of power to drive most speakers.