Rule of thumb? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

1Likes

post #1 of 20 Old 08-17-16, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Rule of thumb?

Sorry if this post seems ridiculous but I am new to this dedicated HT thing. Up until now I have just dealt with a 55" LCD TV and soundbar/sub combo. I never really delved much into the world of HT.

So that being said I have been looking into what will go into my new room. The dimensions are roughly 21' deep x 15' wide x 9' high.

I am looking at AVR's in the $1000 range (Denon AVR-x3300, Marantz SR5011)

So is there a rule of thumb for what to spend on speakers? Should you set aside 2 times the cost of the receiver or something like that. I have been looking online at speakers and it makes my head hurt there is so much out there and the costs are all over the board. I know I want a 7.2 system but not sure what I should be looking for. I travel a lot for work so I don't have tons of time to go listen to systems somewhere. So i am defaulting to the community that has put the work into finding things that work.

I don't really want to spend much more than 8k for the AVR, speakers and sub. On that note is it better to go with an AVR or get separate components?

Thanks in advance for the help I will be checking back often as I can while I travel. I am hoping to get this whole thing wrapped up by end of year.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 08-17-16, 01:44 PM
Elite Shackster

Tony

My System
Re: Rule of thumb?

Generally you do want to spend more money on speakers than anything else. Given that's the speakers are ultimately the item that output the sound into your room they need to be decent. That said though if you have other items in the chain that are not up to the task it won't matter how good the speakers are if you have a weak link some where else in the chain will be the deciding factor "garbage in garbage out"