Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Where Do I Compromise?

Tags
compromise
6K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  ajinfla 
#1 ·
I’m building a music/HT system (60/40 split) and down to deciding on the processor, subs and amps. Looking at somewhat higher-end and slightly less high-end equipment. If you were to compromise or cut corners in one of these categories in order to save money, which would it be? My last system lasted 15 years and I expect this one to, as well.

New speakers are SF Venere family all the way around: S, 2.0 and Center. Coming off Paradigm Studio 80s, 20s, C with Servo 15 that I thought sounded muddy. Bear in mind that yes, I am a noob at this, and although I can appreciate good sound I'm really going to have to spend some time learning to tune this stuff. Simplicity of the processor and subs will be a big factor.

Room is a 20x20x20 living room with large openings on two walls - not dedicated HT. The lack of impact from the Servo 15 is my main reason for considering 2 subs. My thought was that I'd use the front sub while listening just to music and turn on the second in the back of the room for movies.

My potential comparisons:

Processors: McIntosh MX122 v. Marantz AV8802A v. Anthem AVM 60. Potential savings of $4,000

Amp: Planning on getting a MAC 2-ch for the mains, but as a supporting amp for the surrounds and Zone 2, looking at McIntosh MC8207 v. Outlaw 7700. Potential savings of $3,750.

Subs: 2) JL Audio Fathom F113 v. 2) SVS SB16-Ultra v. 2) SVS SB13-Ultra. Potential savings of $6,000.

Or the converse, in which of these three categories would you definitely not compromise?

I really appreciate the feedback.

See less See more
#2 ·
First of all welcome aboard the HTS :wave:

You have a good list of items above. Given your room is large and open into other rooms your going to need to invest in the best subs you can afford if you want to be able to pressurize the space. I would go with the two SVS PB16u's.