I need help choosing a Home Theater System - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 20 Old 06-27-12, 11:59 PM Thread Starter
I need help choosing a Home Theater System

I'm not sure where to start. I am a Physics student and am leaning towards either Materials or Sound, but I haven't had a chance to take any classes about sound and haven't the slightest clue what to look for or what anything means.

I just moved into my house. The house was recently remodeled before I bought it, and it appears the previous owner set up the living room for a surround sound system. The room is rectangular, and in the four top corners of the room there are boxes that I assume he placed there so he wouldn't have too much work when he decided to hang speakers. So assuming it is a good idea to have speakers mounted in the upper corners of the room, I won't have to do much remodeling .

I don't watch television or movies, so there is no problems there. I am, however, an avid fan of music, podcasts, audiobooks, dramatized audiobooks, 3d recordings of landscapes, and audio dramas (like the old time radio before and/or during the early times of television). I listen to music of all qualities from 128 mp3 to .flac (best quality file I know of so far). I don't play video games, but I may decide one day that I want to. Or marry someone who wants to... or have children who want to (assuming I don't upgrade my system by then). So I want a home theater system that would allow me to enjoy these things more than my cheap pair of earphones.