Building new house...need help with HT build! - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 3 Old 04-01-13, 01:41 AM Thread Starter
Building new house...need help with HT build!

My Situation

We are building a house (starting to dig next week) and I want to do a fairly substantial HT and whole home media set up. I am fairly capable with construction and wiring, but after reading on this forum for hours I have realized I am a novice when it comes to home theater. I am going to use my current set up to start off, with the exception of purchasing a universal remote and necessary repeaters to control my HT, lights, shades, and fire place. I will only be automating lights and shades in my family room to start off.

Here is what I currently have:

Family Room (downstairs)

60" Samsung Plasma
Yamaha RX-V371 which came as a set of 5 speakers and a powered sub
Samsung DVD
Xbox 360
Direct TV Box

Living Room (upstairs)

46" Samsung LCD
Samsung DVD
Direct TV Box

Here's what I eventually would like to have set up in the new home:

Family room:

80" or so LED (too much light for projector) hopefully they'll come down in price a little next year
Decent quality receiver/speaker/sub set up budget of 2-3k
Universal remote that controls HT, lights, shades, fireplace, makes coffee
Google TV Box

Living Room:

46" Samsung LCD
Direct TV
4 in ceiling spkrs

Master BR:

Direct TV
2 in ceiling spkrs

Covered Deck:2 in ceiling spkrs

Garage:LCD, 2 in ceiling spkers

Hot tub room:LCD, 2 in ceiling spkers

Patio/Fire Pit:2 out door spkers

Bar in family room:LCD

Basement bathroom:small LCD

Whole home-hoping there is a way to access these 2 components from each zone listed above:

Google TV
Media Server
Would also like to do a couple outdoor surveillance cameras, and maybe one day a security system.