Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Newbie here - Suggest an amp for my HT setup

2K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  desertfox 
#1 · (Edited)
Newbie here - Suggest an AV receiver for my HT setup

Hey guys,

I'm planning to go with Aperian Audio's 7.1 Verus Grand Tower XD package listed here. I have no idea which amp I should get. I'm based in India and the amps available here are Denon, Marantz and Yamaha.

If you are suggesting an amp, please tell why.

The primary use of this system is for movies only. Itunes content, Blurays and DVDs will be the preferred source of media.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#4 ·
A bit of both.
I have a smaller Marantz and I'm happy with the brand. That's certainly a generic, biased, suggestion. :D

However, I did look up your speakers. They have a good sensitivity and a 6ohm impedance. I run 6ohm speakers with my Marantz, and it handles them quite well. The recommended power of your speakers is between 20 and 300 watts; the Marantz SR7007 fits that nicely:

Rated output (Marantz SR7007):
Front:
125 W + 125 W (8 ohm, 20 Hz – 20 kHz with 0.08 % T.H.D.)
195 W + 195 W (6 ohm, 1 kHz with 10 % T.H.D.)
Center:
125 W (8 ohm, 20 Hz – 20 kHz with 0.08 % T.H.D.)
195 W (6 ohm, 1 kHz with 10 % T.H.D.)
Surround:
Surround back:

The Marantz also has full 7.2 support (for dual subwoofers) - including pre-outs for future flexibility with external amp upgrades.

You've chosen a really nice set of speakers, so I keep mentioning the Marantz because it's a brand I've had experience and good luck with - and I think the SR7007 would position you nicely to do whatever you may want do to.

The Denon alternative is often compared to the Marantz - favorably.

I have heard good things about some Yamaha's too, but I just don't have any real experience with them personally.

#7 ·
Rated output (Marantz SR7007):
Front: