First Timer Questions - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 9 Old 05-04-14, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
First Timer Questions

Hello all! I would like to introduce myself, and explain my situation to get some feedback from the knowledgeable members of the HT Shack.

So a little bit of background; my wife and I are a young married couple that will be moving into our first house at the end of this month. One of the features that really excited me about the house was the bonus room. A frog (finished room over garage) that we decided would be a wonderful place to make our own little theater. Now I have no experience in any of this and as I began to do some research I came across this wonderful site. I've learned a lot just looking around, but I thought it was a good time to explain the specifics of my plan to get some advice from you all. The process of buying the house is obviously very expensive so this will be a project that I work on here and there over time, but it's never to early to start planning.

A little bit about the room; since it is a Frog it has the slanted walls going up towards the ceiling. So the shape of the room is like the top half of a stop sign if that makes sense. I guess because of the strange shape I was surprised when I saw that the dimensions were 13'6" by 13'6" making it a square. From what I've seen I know this is not ideal but it's what I have to work with. My projector screen will go on the far wall in front of where the only window is, I should have no trouble getting the room very dark.