Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Time to replace OEM speakers

2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  ambesolman 
#1 ·
Hey guys, found this forum today, never noticed it before. I am a total novice with car audio. I need to replace the OEM speakers in my 2000 GMC Seirra truck. I am betting that upgrading the speakers will have a nice impact on the sound. Are there internet direct companies for car audio like there are for HT (ie SVS, Emotiva, Outlaw etc.) that give you good bang for your buck. Not trying to reinvent the wheel here, just a nice upgrade...any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
I am not aware of any Internet direct companies for car audio, but generally Amazon has plenty of offerings for aftermarket speakers at relatively inexpensive pricing. If you do not plan to power them with anything other than the factory equipment, look at Infinity, who makes a good replacement speaker for most vehicles.

#4 ·
I would not necessarily expect a vast improvement without adding a power amp, but the Infinity speakers are high sensitivity and sound pretty good with low power. If I were going to add a power amp, I would not choose these unless I was on a tight budget.

#5 ·