Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Planning a box for car sub

Tags
planning
2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  MrBachelor 
#1 ·
I've read several posts dealing with this sort of retrofit (car sub in HT application). Like many others I have a mildly used 12" car sub in my closet waiting to be put to some use.
I have entered the TS parameters of my Alpine Type R dual 2Ω sub into WinISD (great program by the way) and have done many itterations with port size, tuning, and box volume. I have to keep the box sized to meet with the expectations of my significant other (no larger than an endtable). I am hoping to put together a sonosub build cause they look the best in my opinion.
Currently I have no home theater in my house. The TV speakers are driving me crazy with their tinny sound and low volume so I'll be looking into a receiver and speakers as well... but that is another topic.
Since I'm new to HT and to WinISD I just want to be sure I have the general proceedures down. So here's what I did:
Obviously I already have a sub; I found the TS parameters for the sub and entered them into WinISD.
I want as low of a response as possible but understand I am limited by the 12" sub and my available box size.
Examining cone excursion, SPL curve, and port air speed I came up with a 5CF (net) volume with a 6" circular port, tuned to 22hz.
However, due to cone excursion and an attempt to flatten out the response curve several signal attenuations were needed. I set a highpass filter at 18hz, a lowpass at 120hz, and a parametric EQ gain of 4db at 34hz.
I plan to run between 200 and 250 watts to the sub.
My questions stem from my proceedures. Are they sound? Are the EQ settings available in amplifier or will I have to use a separate EQ for this sort of signal modification?