I don't get 3D - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 10 Old 02-10-13, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
I don't get 3D

So the wife and I went to see "The Hobbit" the other day at the local theater, after buying our tickets the young man reaches under the counter and hands us 3D glasses. I had never seen a movie in 3D and have been avoiding them. They did not have the standard version playing so we went ahead on in. Well we were the first people in the theater so had our choice of seats. I chose about 2/3 the way back in the middle of the row. Let me say that I have been wearing glasses for almost 50 years and have had "no line" bi-focals for more than 10. The movie starts and after the first 10 minuets I wanted my money back. It was the worst movie experience I think I have ever had. The movie was dark, I spent most of my time moving my head around trying to find a focus point. There was a massive amount of white light pouring out from the projector room. And the sound! Well it was thin and unimpressive. More like a cheap transistor radio piped thru a high school PA system.

That said, am I missing something? Or has Hollywood foisted this 3D thing upon us as the "latest and greatest" of the emperors new clothes?

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 10 Old 02-10-13, 02:09 PM
Elite Shackster
My System
I'm not a huge fan of 3d myself after about 15minutes I get a headache.. I've never been to a theater to watch a 3D movie I feel it's more a distraction waiting to see what is coming at you then to actually watch the movie. My daughter on the other hand(3) thinks its the coolest thing ever and runs back and forth behind the tv to see where it's coming from
post #3 of 10 Old 02-10-13, 05:30 PM
Elite Shackster
My System
While I do prefer the 2D version most of the time I must also say when done right the 3D experience is great. Check out Avatar, Tron, or Hugo and then if you still don't enjoy it then it's just not for you.
post #4 of 10 Old 02-11-13, 04:45 AM