What is Mastering? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 8 Old 06-24-10, 07:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
What is Mastering?

I thought I'd open this thread, not because I am an experienced mastering engineer but because I think I have the ears to become one

From my experience, given a good mix the first thing that may need adjusting is tonal/frequency balance. I figure this might be due to the equipment in the original studio maybe being off-key somewhere.

Beyond this there are other problems that may come up, most often I've seen are digital distortion/clipping or microphone abuse.

For these type of problems I have been experimenting with the SPL Qure parametric EQ. It has some kind of inductive/vacuum tube Qure circuit that seems to fill in the missing harmonics to 'complete' the signal. Of course there are some distortions that have defied many attempts. I would have to get into digital notches.

This gets into my whole idea about using transformers and vacuum tubes. And even tape. In my head, my comprehension, these types of devices in some cases translate the signal from electrical to electromagnetic and back and allow a completion of the harmonics that may have been depleted or truncated for any reason.

This may be why I tend to favor FET circuits over bipolar transistors, not that I have done definitive testing. Germanium transistors also have a tube sound.

Anyway, I'd suggest gaining some earsperience with a real system approaching reference level. People may have built up a system without objective reference. Check out other studios or demos at the AES convention.
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 8 Old 06-25-10, 08:58 AM
Senior Shackster
Re: What is Mastering?

While fixing problems sometimes becomes the job of the mastering engineer, I don't think that really describes the answer to the original question.