A great cable reference - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 3 Old 07-30-07, 08:58 AM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
HTS Moderator Emeritus

Anthony

A great cable reference

Caveat: I'm an engineer by trade, so I am naturally inclined to believe science over psychology. I'm skeptical of snake-oil type claims, and usually don't believe hype.

That being said, I have MIT speaker wire in my theater, a tube amp system with awful distortion measurements (but sounds magical), and have been known to defend A/V "tweakers" on many occasions. In every case, I tried, listened and made my own conclusion.

When something that shouldn't sound better does (like the MIT speaker wire), I chalk it up to the fact that there's so much we don't know about the brain, ear, and sound transmission.

All that aside, Audioholics has written and compiled some great articles on everything you should know about cables, wire, transmission, power . . .

http://www.audioholics.com/education/cables/

Especially read the articles on cable snake oil, shielding, and break-in. They even had a speaker wire face off where extension cord outperformed Monster 12 gauge in resistance, inductance, and capacitance measurements

I'm not saying there's nothing to all the high-end cable claims, but at worst, they are acting as tone controls or filters in your system. For some people that ends up making it sound a lot better, thereby justifying the purchase. Read into it what you will.

And . . . discuss!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 07-30-07, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
HTS Moderator Emeritus

Anthony

Re: A great cable reference

yeah I mentioned that. They are probably acting as tone controls. My system sounded bright with regular 12 gauge and sounded very relaxed and unfatiguing with the MITs, that's the only reason I got them. This was a long time ago, by the way.