Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 342
Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Do I really need to use REW if my receiver has auto calibration? I have a Yamaha 663 receiver with the auto room calibration feature, and I have run this a couple times to set everything but I am not sure if I should go ahead and run REW or not. Would I really benefit from using it?

I have two sub woofers and a 7.1 system/speaker set up. Although the Auto Calibration told me to set the cross over freq to max, not sure if that meant all the way to 120 or down to 50. The sub-woofers I have are not exactly the same, one is a DCM bottom firing 10" and the other is a Polk 8" front firing.

Any suggestions?

I have the REW software on a MacBook, and I believe I have calibrated it correctly. And I also have a Radio Shack digital sound meter.
akakillroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 07:59 PM
Senior Shackster
 
etcarroll's Avatar
etcarroll
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE PA by way of Boston MA
Posts: 133
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Definately run it.

Auto cal. in a receiver is not 100% by any means, REW wil point out where it missed.

Having 2 subs only increases the chance of there being a problem, might as well find out now.

I'd set XO at 50 before 120, but really, 80 might be best if its an option. Try both 50 then 80. your ears should be your guide in this.
etcarroll is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 342
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Well I am game for running it, but assume I know nothing Now that I have my sound card calibrated such as it is. I do not have a BFD so I would assume by the setup instructions I am going to use just the right in and out's. Right in on the sound meter and right in for the receiver?
akakillroy is offline  
post #4 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 08:50 PM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,576
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration


Right out for the receiver...

Regards,
Wayne
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 342
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

I consider myself an intelligent person but I am having some difficulty figure out the specifics on what to measure for what type of connections. Most of the diagrams show connections to the BFD but none if you just have a receiver. And most seem to talk about measuring your subs/low freq. Are there any tutorials or step by step how to's. Sorry to be so ignorant.
akakillroy is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 08-26-08, 09:16 PM
Senior Shackster
 
etcarroll's Avatar
etcarroll
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE PA by way of Boston MA
Posts: 133
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Me too, and I had issues last month when I ran it, look for my thread, you'll see as I posted my issues, the experienced members here answered them. If you notice my first post, I outlined my equipment and room size, you can start there.

BFD is optional, not required, I don't have one.

You MUST HOWEVER read the first post, the stickied thread of REW info.

Find the 'GUIDES' section, then read the first 3 bullets, skip the 4th as its about BFD. I used this diagram from the guides section, minus the BFD part of course;
Attached Thumbnails
Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration-rew-connection.jpg  


Last edited by etcarroll; 08-26-08 at 09:23 PM.
etcarroll is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 08-27-08, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 342
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

I must be doing something wrong during my sound card calibration. I seem to get it calibrated but when I do step 7 here, my measurement does not base out at 0 but like at 75db its flat as a pancake but not at 0 I am not sure what I am doing wrong.
Attachment 9045

Last edited by akakillroy; 08-06-11 at 10:53 PM.
akakillroy is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 08-27-08, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 342
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Here is my initial sound card measurement, set at -12db I am in the yellow on the VU meters but in the green on the headroom of -6.x dbAttachment 9046

Last edited by akakillroy; 08-06-11 at 10:53 PM.
akakillroy is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 08-27-08, 11:01 PM
Elite Shackster
brucek
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,514
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

It's all fine. Save the soundcard file in REW and carry on........

brucek
brucek is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 08-28-08, 02:08 PM
Elite Shackster
 
salvasol's Avatar
David
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 3,251
Re: Do I need to run REW on my HT if using Auto Calibration

Quote:
carls64 wrote: View Post
Do I really need to use REW if my receiver has auto calibration? ...
It seems that you're starting to have fun calibrating everything after the build ...

Is okay to have two subs, but is preferred to have two similar ... by the way: Did you do the crawling test or just placed them in the front wall???

When you get REW running ... calibrate one sub at a time, then combine their response to get the best out of the system

REW looks intimidating, but after a couple of measurements you'll see how easy is to use

Hopefully you won't need a BFD ... after you run REW try to adjust the response with your receiver EQ (I have the RXV 2700 and that's what I did) and I'm happy with the results
salvasol is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
auto , calibration

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome