Mic Orientation - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 6 Old 10-07-15, 09:15 PM Thread Starter
Mic Orientation

I just received a UMIK-1 Mic and want to use it with REW to smooth out my low-end response from my dual subs and mains. I've done a lot of reading including the REW Help file, the MiniDSP site instructions, and the AVSForum REW guide. One thing that's noticeably absent or even conflicting are instructions for mic orientation. This seems like a fundamental step in obtaining measurements.

MiniDSP says it can be used either way but it's less sensitive off axis.

AVSForum members are adamant that the mic be vertically oriented and pointed at the ceiling.

It would make the most sense to me to point it at the front of the room since that's the way a listener would be facing and where most of the sound is coming from. But I'm not an expert on this stuff (yet).

What is the best practise? Is there any info on the where, how and why of microphone placement that I've overlooked?

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 10-07-15, 09:49 PM
Senior Shackster
My System
Re: Mic Orientation

The datasheet for the UMIK-1 specifies that it's polar pattern is "omnidirectional". This means that nominally it doesn't care which direction it is aimed, and it should have pretty even response in any orientation. Most reference mics are omni's, so this is not at all uncommon.

They are most often located at or near your listening position (or positions), and aimed loosely "towards" your speakers. The rationale behind aiming at the ceiling, I think, is so it can hear side/rear channels. You can try it both aimed forward and aimed up and see if you get different results... though my money is on seeing minimal differences between the two orientations.
post #3 of 6 Old 10-08-15, 08:26 AM
HTS Moderator
My System

Welcome to HTS, VirtualRain! Glad you joined us!