Impedance measurement not working - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 24 Old 01-07-16, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Evan

My System
Impedance measurement not working

Hi, I've been using Rew for a couple of years, so I do know the basics. I have an old laptop running XP that I use to take room and frequency measurements. I've never been able to make it take an impedance measurement though, so I've always used my desktop for this. I use a homemade jig and it's always worked fine. The thing is is that I've just upgraded to a new desktop computer, so instead of doing all the calibrations again, I would like to get the laptop doing everything because it's already setup for REW and it's just plain easier to take it to a large, heavy speaker than the other way around.

When I try to run an impedance sweep on the laptop I can see something in the small tab graph on the left, but it's obviously wrong and I see nothing on the main graph. I can see a constantly rotating phase response though. And it isn't the graph scaling or the check tab for the measurement. Even if I just try to measure a resistor or inductor, nothing shows up. Does anyone have any ideas to get me moving again? It'd be much appreciated!

Evan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 01-08-16, 01:14 PM
REW Author

John

Re: Impedance measurement not working

Difficult to say much without anything to look at, can you attach an example mdat file from a measurement? One of the most common issues is to have the L and R input connections the wrong way around, can check that by just changing the input channel selection in REW's soundcard preferences. What sense resistor value are you using?
post #3 of 24 Old 01-08-16, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Evan

My System

Hi John, thanks for getting back to me.

I'm using a 100 ohm resistor.