Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-01-16, 08:18 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

I currently have the latest beta of REW, but ever since the timing reference update, I can't measure 2 channels at once (via HDMI and ASIO). I have not selected use timing reference under preferences and when I select channel 1 and 2 for FL+FR+subs, I get output just from channel 1. The next measure doesn't even show a drop down menu for a second channel to measure, just one drop down menu.

Am I missing a step or something? I had no issues with measuring 2 channel at once before the timing reference update.
HT-GUY123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-02-16, 09:57 AM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,561
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

One way to do that is to use the Java drivers, which provide an option to use left/right/both channels of the selected output. For ASIO drivers I have added a secondary output selector to the measurement dialog in 5.17 beta 4.
JohnM is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-02-16, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Quote:
JohnM wrote: View Post
One way to do that is to use the Java drivers, which provide an option to use left/right/both channels of the selected output. For ASIO drivers I have added a secondary output selector to the measurement dialog in 5.17 beta 4.
Ok, thanks... does this mean with the new beta it will work exactly like before the timing reference feature was added?

(Because I currently see a secondary output selector in the measurement pop-up screen for the first measure each time REW is started... but it doesn't actually work.

The second measure no longer shows that secondary output selector.)
HT-GUY123 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 07-02-16, 10:44 AM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,561
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

You'll need to give me some more information, please, like what your REW soundcard preference settings are and what the measure dialog is actually showing. Screenshots would be great. Would also be helpful if you could look in the REW log files (their location is shown in the Help -> about dialog) and see if any errors have been logged.
JohnM is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-02-16, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Will do first chance I get
HT-GUY123 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-07-16, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

got it working fine in beta 5 (5.17)
HT-GUY123 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-11-16, 02:44 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

I believe I am having the same problem. Been using 5.13 up until today without issue. Decided to upgrade to 5.16 and the same issue described here is happening to me as well. Downgraded to 5.15 and still the same issue. Just upgraded to 5.17 beta 5 and still the same issue but you did add to the new drop down box but I don't think that is solving anything.

When I first launch the Measure page, everything is fine. See "REW Output 1.jpeg" attached.

When I close the Make a Measurement page and then click on Measure again, the second output disappears. I have to shutdown REW completely and the relaunch to get it back but it immediately goes away again after doing so.

Is there a workaround for this? If not, I have to revert back to 5.13.
Attached Thumbnails
Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update-rew-output-1.jpg  

Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update-rew-output-2.jpg  

McLuvin is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-11-16, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Quote:
McLuvin wrote: View Post
I believe I am having the same problem. Been using 5.13 up until today without issue. Decided to upgrade to 5.16 and the same issue described here is happening to me as well. Downgraded to 5.15 and still the same issue. Just upgraded to 5.17 beta 5 and still the same issue but you did add to the new drop down box but I don't think that is solving anything.

When I first launch the Measure page, everything is fine. See "REW Output 1.jpeg" attached.

When I close the Make a Measurement page and then click on Measure again, the second output disappears. I have to shutdown REW completely and the relaunch to get it back but it immediately goes away again after doing so.

Is there a workaround for this? If not, I have to revert back to 5.13.
Actually, if you select the checkbox and choose the 2nd channel under the first THEN it works *at least for me*.

(The selection on the right of the first channel doesn't work and disappears like you mentioned on 2nd measurement sweep.)
HT-GUY123 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-11-16, 03:21 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

Quote:
HT-GUY123 wrote: View Post
Actually, if you select the checkbox and choose the 2nd channel under the first THEN it works *at least for me*.

(The selection on the right of the first channel doesn't work and disappears like you mentioned on 2nd measurement sweep.)
I do that and it still does not working for me. I've been playing with it and it seems like I have to have the timing reference turned on to take any meaningful measurements.
McLuvin is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-11-16, 04:43 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,561
Re: Unable to measure FL+FR+subs after timing reference update

The timing reference output selector shouldn't appear when not using a timing reference (it isn't being used for anything), it was being shown in error when the measurement dialog first opened but correctly hidden after that. I've fixed that for the next beta. It shouldn't make any difference to using the 2nd output channel though, and the second output channel should work fine whether or not a timing reference is being used. It seems to behave correctly when I test it with or without a timing reference.
JohnM is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fl , fr , measure , reference , subs , timing , unable , update

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome