SPL not working - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-24-16, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Kennybugs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 5
SPL not working

OK, I use the REW every few weeks and last time I used it about 2 weeks ago my mic and SPL sound pressure meter worked just fine. But now I can't get it to work. I use a UMIK-1 mic and it shows in preferences that is what I picked. I even tried to use the internal computer mic and it still won't work. The Generator works just fine going out to my speakers. I just use REW to measures the in room levels and then send the results to my miniDSP.

I reloaded both REW and Java and it still won't work. I did download ASIO and It seems to work, but I don't know how to use ASIO.

Could somebody help me out? I have a windows 10 laptop. It did work just fine but now won't.

Maybe somebody could tell me how to test my UMIK-1 mic to make sure it works.

Thank you for any help

Kenny
Kennybugs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-24-16, 05:26 PM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,925
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: SPL not working


Not sure about Windows 10, but in 7 you open the “Sound” window click the “Recording” tab. The mic should appear as an option. Tapping on it should get you a signal on the level meter. If so, the mic should work in REW.

Regards,
Wayne




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-24-16, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Kennybugs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 5
Re: SPL not working

Wayne, thank you as that did work. The mic was disabled.

But now I have another problem as the mic enables for a few seconds then disables again.

So it isn't in the REW program but something in windows 10 mic settings.

Again, thank you a lot for your help.

I'll Google this and see if I can find the problem.

Kenny
Kennybugs is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 07-24-16, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Kennybugs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 5
Re: SPL not working

I reloaded the driver for the sound card and the mic is staying up as long as I am in the mic settings but as soon as I exit and go back in it is disabled again. Will do some more looking to see if I can find the problem.

Kenny
Kennybugs is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-25-16, 07:45 AM
Senior Shackster
 
FargateOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 345
My System
Re: SPL not working

Quote:
Kennybugs wrote: View Post
I reloaded the driver for the sound card and the mic is staying up as long as I am in the mic settings but as soon as I exit and go back in it is disabled again. Will do some more looking to see if I can find the problem.

Kenny
I am not an expert, but the best way to learn about using Asio4All with hdmi, Umik-1 and rew is AustinJerry guide here:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...%20Version.pdf

Follow the instruction to the letter. I have win 10 on my laptop, it works; not easy for a dinausore like me but feasible !
FargateOne is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-25-16, 09:04 AM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,925
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: SPL not working


Quote:
but as soon as I exit and go back in it is disabled again. but as soon as I exit and go back in it is disabled again.
Again in Windows 7 - once you select the mic, click the “Set [as] Default” button. Sounds like you’ll have to do the same thing with 10, too.

Regards,
Wayne




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-25-16, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Kennybugs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 5
Re: SPL not working

It has OK, Cancel and Apply but the Apply won't hi lite for me to click. After awhile the mic mutes back out. Strange. If I hit OK it stays on for awhile then mutes back out.

I did get my measurements so I will keep at it until I figure it out.

Thanks FargateOne and Wayne.

Kenny
Kennybugs is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-29-16, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
Kennybugs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 5
Re: SPL not working

Had a Malware on my computer. As soon as I got rid of the Malware my mic is not muting anymore.

Thanks for the help.

Kenny
Kennybugs is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
spl , working

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome