Check Levels inconsistent?? - Page 2 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 Old 12-31-08, 02:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Windows XP Professional
hrpschrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 Old 12-31-08, 08:33 AM
Elite Shackster
brucek
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,514
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Quote:
Where do I find Windows Mixer?
Double click the speaker icon in your desktop system tray.

The two mixers are setup as below.

To select Recording, select options, then properties pulldown

Playback Mixer
Check Levels inconsistent??-windows-mixer-playback.jpg


Record Mixer
Name:  Windows MIXER Record.jpg
Views: 233
Size:  24.2 KB

brucek
brucek is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 12-31-08, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Thanks Bruce. Is this all I need to do or are the options Steven listed necessary also?
Also, besides checking the items do I need to adjust the levels just as you show them?
hrpschrd is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 12-31-08, 01:29 PM
Elite Shackster
brucek
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,514
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Quote:
Is this all I need to do or are the options Steven listed necessary also?
Those options won't be available without the SB driver application software.

Quote:
besides checking the items do I need to adjust the levels just as you show them?
You set the levels as required by the Check Levels routine. I am only giving an example to show you what is enabled and muted.

brucek
brucek is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 01-01-09, 12:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

SUCCESS!
Thanks very much Brucek! I obviously didn't understand the necessity of adjusting the soundcard volume as well as input volume and preamp volume.

I am assuming that this graph is a correct one of course but I think I can now add a "room curve" adjustment to the bass. The treble doesn't roll off much to 20KHz but I like the sound in the room (which is heavily trapped). With the bass traps I have it looks like I don't have substantial peaks but I may not be able to reduce the troughs too much more. I think the waterfall is fairly good (not much beyond 300ms).

With a little help this software is really easy to use and it gives great results.
Attached Thumbnails
Check Levels inconsistent??-screenshot.jpg  

Check Levels inconsistent??-screenshotw.jpg  


Last edited by hrpschrd; 01-01-09 at 01:00 PM. Reason: Add waterfall.
hrpschrd is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 01-01-09, 12:56 PM
Elite Shackster
brucek
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,514
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Looks good.

Tips:

For subwoofers, always use the standard Vertical graph axis of (45dB - 105dB) and the Horizontal graph axis of (15Hz - 200Hz) using the Graph Limits button in the top right corner of REW.
For full range, use the standard Vertical graph axis of (45dB - 105dB) and the Horizontal graph axis of (15Hz - upper limits you desire, - certainly no higher than your soundcard or SPL meter can extend).
For full range only, enable smoothing to eliminate the comb filtering. Use a 1/3 octave smoothing.

The little floppy icon in the bottom left hand corner of your graph is used to save a jpg at 800 wide so you can post them here.

brucek
brucek is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 12-01-09, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Hello again a year later! And a year dummer: I am getting no sound during "Check Levels". I have read and re-read this thread but can't find the problem. It seems everything is setup the same as before with the same hardware.

To review: I have a SoundBlaster MP3 sound board connected to my stereo and my laptop. The Settings screen looks the same as before with the Mixer LineIn selected in Recording and muted in Playback. The "Check Level" output is at 0dB but Left and Right levels are not on scale. There is also NO sound.

What setting prevents output from the stereo (which is working fine)?
hrpschrd is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 12-01-09, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Ok, found one mistake and am now getting -18dB in the Right channel but still no sound, so I cannot adjust to 75dB in the room. Arrgghhh.
hrpschrd is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 12-02-09, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 152
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

Just in case anyone reads this thread (brucek?), I have solved the problem but I have no idea how.
I know one has to set up the Windows Volume Control settings properly to send a signal. Although it should have no effect, I found that increasing the volume on the Playback/Wave brought my signal up and it stayed there even though I could turn it down and it wouldn't go away.

This was a case of just fiddling knobs and getting lucky. Any rhyme or reason to that?
hrpschrd is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 12-02-09, 02:49 PM
Senior Shackster
Bill
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 678
Re: Check Levels inconsistent??

I did not mention it before, as the symptoms of the SoundBlaster card my wife's XP desktop computer were different. There, usually when I start REW I have sound, but no levels show in REW. When I go into Sound in Control Panel and switch from Line In to Mic and back to Line In, the REW now receives the audio and displays the levels. So it seems the SoundBlaster drivers are sometimes buggy, where they are not actually acting identically to the settings they display, but when you touch a control they recognize the new value and the behavior again matches the displayed state.

Bill
laser188139 is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
check , inconsistent?? , levels , moderator

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome