Is this equipment ok for REW? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 7 Old 09-02-16, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Is this equipment ok for REW?

Hi folks

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to REW.

I have a Dayton Audio EMM-6 Electret Measurement Microphone & I just ordered a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen) USB Audio Interface for it.

Will this do the job? I have no experience with REW but I have used an SPL meter to to get my subwoofers integrated with my stand-mount speakers. That's the extent of taking any measurements of my system.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-03-16, 08:10 PM
HTS Senior Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Is this equipment ok for REW?

The Focusrite should work. Typically the most simple interfaces work best with REW,and that one appears to be pretty simple.

The mic will work too, but a mic with a calibration file will get more accurate frequency response measurements. However, if all you’re interested in is acoustics measurements (e.g. ETC), then no calibration file is needed and you’re in business.

Regards,
Wayne

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|

post #3 of 7 Old 09-07-16, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Wayne, thanks for responding, I didn't think anyone was going to.

Just wanted to let you know that the Dayton Audio EMM-6 does have a calibration file. I downloaded it at the EMM-6 webpage for DaytonAudio.

If you go to that webpage there is box where you enter the microphone Serial Number and click LOOKUP. I did that and downloaded a text file. I haven't entered it in REW yet, but I assume it will be accepted.