Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Mic Calibration CSV Format - Behringer vs Cross Spectrum Labs

8K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  DarkKman 
#1 ·
Hi there,

I'm just getting started with using REW and practised taking some readings using an AKG CK61 ULS Capsule (probably not great to measure) but just to get used to the process - I'm getting there. I now have a Behringer ECM8000 - So two quick questions;

1) I have downloaded the calibration date from Behringer here
This provides an XLS (which I have converted to CSV). The headers included are Hz, dB, Phase. Are all these needed for the CSV, if so, which order and should the actual header row be included? I have also downloaded the Cross Spectrum Labs "Correction" file (.cal) for ECM8000 from the downloads section. This doesn't have headers and only seems to include Hz and dB values. Is this correct for CSV formatting also?

2) With the above in mind - which is considered most "accurate"? The one form Behringer or the one form Cross Spectrum Labs? Or, at least, which would you recommend I use for measurements?

Thanks in advance... Great software! :smile:

#2 ·
1) You can use all 3 columns of the Behringer file - no header is necessary. You can use the CSL file as is. The Behringer info appears to be for a 90° mic orientation (see chart below). The CSL file will be 0° mic orientation unless you have you have obtained files the both orientations from CSL. REW will use the phase data included with the Behringer file. If you use the CSL file REW will assume the phase is 0° across the full range. The impact of the phase information is not significant for any of the common home uses of REW.