Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

V.5.17 Beta 11 Acoustic Timing Reference Not Working with HDMI on MAC

3K views 15 replies 3 participants last post by  JohnM 
#1 ·
Hello, I am new to REW and the forum.

I installed V.5.17 B11 and was setting it up using my MacBook air speakers and my Berhinger ECM8000 connected to my IrigPro interface. The timing reference sound is heard when I run the measurement.

When I connect to HDMI, the timing reference is not heard but it plays the sweep OK. I was sweeping each speaker and then out of the blue, I heard one timing sound and then it has not come back again.

Any thoughts on the solution?

Mark Harrison

#4 ·
Thanks. Instead of Aggregate Device try selecting HDMI as the output device and Speaker as the output, then choose the output channel directly from REW. May as well also select Microphone as the input on the iRig Pro rather than leaving it as default device.

#6 ·
Did you remove the aggregate device? The instructions for that method involve muting channels not used for measurement, which could be why the timing reference, which is always on front left or right (depending on which you have selected) is only audible when you measure the same channel as selected for the reference.

#9 ·
I don't know what else to suggest, sorry. I don't have an OS X HDMI multi-ch setup to test with, but with an 8-ch soundcard all behaves as expected with the timing reference appearing on the selected channel (left or right) whichever channel is selected for measurement. Perhaps worth checking your speaker configuration for HDMI to make sure nothing strange has happened to that as a result of using the aggregate device, a typical setup is shown below.

Text Line Computer icon Screenshot Font

#13 ·