New to REW, difficulty calibrating and more questions - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 15 Old 12-14-16, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

New to REW, difficulty calibrating and more questions

Hello,

I am in need of help! I am currently in the process of treating my room to utilize my new Focal Alphas, and I am new to REW.

First, I am having some difficulty calibrating my REW. For some reason, when I try to calibrate REW's SPL meter, using a behringer ecm8000, the spl rating is not matching up with my hand-held SPL meter set to Slow, C-weight. Do I need to be using different settings on the REW SPL meter since I am using a mic and not a SPL? Due to this, I have gotten some extremely wonky results, especially since my monitors have been calibrated to 75dB with pink noise.

Additionally, I was told that when actually doing the measurements, it should utilize both speakers. For some reason it is only letting me choose one at a time. Will this affect my results, or do I just take an average between left and right?

Finally, once I have my measurements, would anyone be willing to help interpret my results, or enlighten me by way of tutorial or other means to analyze it myself? I have had some pretty accentuated bass frequencies in my room when I was using different studio monitors. Now that I have some beefy new Focals, I am in desperate need to figure how much more treatment I need to purchase or how much I need to utilize the built in lowpass filters.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-14-16, 05:49 AM
Elite Shackster
Wayne Myers

Re: New to REW, difficulty calibrating and more questions

Quote:
Roughroom wrote: View Post
Hello,

I am in need of help! I am currently in the process of treating my room to utilize my new Focal Alphas, and I am new to REW.