Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-04-09, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
mossy
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

Hey folks
I downloaded room eq wizard to measure my room response but the problem is my ultralite shows up as not having a mixer in windows (pic attached)
therefore some of the REW drop-down menus for "input" and "output" devices are hidden.

Ive got on to motu, who say that this is normal! Google isnt helping me either
Im using a behringer ecm8000 mic, the ultralite has phantom power so its ok there

Has anyone got a workaround for using REW with this audio interface?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW-ultralite.jpg  

Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW-rew-error.jpg  

mossy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-04-09, 08:57 AM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,560
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

You need WDM drivers for the card for REW (or other Java apps) to be able to access it.
JohnM is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-16-14, 12:14 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

Hi, I have also MOTU Ultralite MK3 and I don't want to create another thread for my issue.
I use it on MAC OSX with Room EQ Beat 5.01 and with Behringer measurement microphone.

I cannot pass the calibration I still have some strange results with the notice:

::he sound card measurement varies by......., that is much higher than it should be, the measurement may not be valid and should not be used to make a calibration file::


I tried to put the volume down, I tried to put the main monitor volume down so I cannot hear in my speakers
when I am touching the mic, but I can see the signal, so it should not be a problem of loopback and monitoring,
but I still have some strange values.. I really don't know how to handle with it. It looks like it already measured my room, not just sound card.
Thak is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 09-16-14, 01:57 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,560
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

When you make a calibration measurement the mic is not involved, you make a connection from a soundcard output back to a soundcard input.
JohnM is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-28-14, 11:53 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

I have a similar kind of issue, I'm using macbook pro, motu 828 mkII and i have created a loop with one end in input and the other in the output of motu. Im unable to calibrate in REW, it just take the input and theres no increase in the level even when i increase the volume drastically.

Some one please help!
amitb69 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-29-14, 07:32 AM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,923
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

For starters:

* Make sure you have the soundcard activated in the OS as both a playback and recording device.
* Make sure the sound card has the monitor set for “off” or “computer.”

Regards,
Wayne



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-30-16, 01:35 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

Hi. I am sorry for rescuing this old post, but I have a similar problem calibrating a Motu Ultralite mk3 with REW.

- I have connected the Right Main Output of the Motu to the Motu Input 1 (the one that I will use with the microphone)

- The Motu is activated in Windows 10 as both Playback and recording Device.

- The Motu has the playback set to off


- I have tried with both Java and ASIO drivers


- The REW meters are displaying input at the “Ref In” but not at the “In”


What step am I missing to have the signal at the Input of the REW?

I hope I can solve this basic issue soon. I have borrowed a Class-A NTi MA220 microphone for this weekend and I will have to return it on Monday

Thank you!
pingfloid is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-30-16, 02:05 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
Re: Help using MOTU Ultralite with REW

OK, I’ve solved it with the following settings at REW:

Output Device: MOTU Main Out
Input Device: Motu Analog 1-2
Output: Default Output - Both
Input: Default Input - Left

My previous selection for Input was “Device Input –Right” but it didn’t work regardless of whehter I connected the input to the Left or the Right output of the Motu. It only works when selecting “Default Input - Left”
pingfloid is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
motu , ultralite

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome