Inconsistent measurements - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 4 Old 11-15-11, 07:42 AM Thread Starter
Inconsistent measurements

This is my very first post on this forum and it is not exactly how I hoped it to be, but it will have to do.

I am fairly new to acoustic measurements, but I have used the ďall in oneĒ package XTZ Room Analyser for a while just to get acquainted with the subject of in-room measurements.

To take it to the next level, I decided to go for REW and register as a user on this forum. The equipment I am currently using with REW is as follows:

Microphone: Earthworks M30 w/tripod Product page
Soundcard: Sound Devices USBPre 2 Product page
Laptop: MacBook Pro (late 2006 edition) running REW under Windows XP (dual boot solution using Boot Camp) Product spec
Cabling, input: Balanced from mic to soundcard
Cabling, output: Balanced from soundcard to pre-amp/processor (unbalanced/single-ended is also an option)

The M30 mic is virtually flat from 10 Hz to 24 kHz (see the graph on its product page). Calibration data exists on a mic by mic basis from around 1 kHz and up, but since the deviation is very low and I am mostly interested in the lower frequencies, I am running REW without any mic calibration file.

The USBPre 2 is also flat from around 10 Hz to 20 kHz and the plot below shows a measurement of the soundcard in my set-up using REW. Because of this, I am running REW without any soundcard calibration file.

Inconsistent measurements-usbpre2_performance.png

Enough said. Let me get on with my questions (before posting this, I did search the forum for similar reports and also browsed through the first 500 posts).

When performing repeated measurements to assess the robustness of a single measurement (i.e. without changing any factors involved), I get deviations from one measurement to the other in the order of 0-10 dB. Is this normal?! And if so, what can be done to counteract this, multiple sweeps for each measurement?