osx set up testing issues - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 8 Old 01-07-12, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
osx set up testing issues

Hello REW forum

I am a newbie to accoustic testing, a musician setting up my room with some basic treatment and I have been hovering around some of the forums digesting as much as possible. I have a number of questions and first I will start with my problems I am having with REW.

I keep getting error messages stating the Impulse Response is not in the correct place and that my signal level is too low to get an accurate measurement. I posted over on Gear Sluts and I was told that Apple is not confroming to the Java protocol which can cause these issues and to buss the mic signal to the internal audio of my mac which could be better for REW. So while i have data that seems appropriate when I cross reference the numbers from REW to a modal calculator I have doubts about whether its accurate or if there is a user error on my part. and I can't obtain more than 2 tests without getting errors so I cant move the mics to keep testing or move some of the treatment/ monitors and retest etc.

3 Questions are: Is there anything I can do to correct the messages? Does the data from REW seem consistent with the room dimentions so can I trust the results and keep testing? and if so, most other waterfalls I have seen posted have much shorter decay times so I think I making a mistake ? If i have missed some tutorials please direct me.

my testing setup