Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1st time questions

Tags
1st time
2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  Wayne A. Pflughaupt 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone.
I have been searching and using this forum for a few weeks now, and I'm a new user of REW with a ECM 8000 (your calibration file) mic. I am a musician and producer, and I am using this to analyze my home studio. I am quite thankful for this site and the REW software and the knowledge I have found in these forum Q&A's. I have thoroughly read the REW manual, but I have a few questions.. The most basic, and forgive me if this sounds stupid, but when I measure at, say 80 or 75 db, after calibrating and using the SPL, how do I interpret the frequency response graph? I see the response, measured with different smoothing applied, but does it reflect the source level of 80 or 75db? (like an imaginary line at that level in the graph)?
I have measured my speakers 3.75" from the cones and the room with each speaker an added speakers to get the "master measurement" to see how things are affecting each other. I see a good mountain at 70 hz, for instance, but I am trying to accurately read the graph.
I am also ingnorant about the phase graph. Are there more threads that can tell me how to better interpret these graphs? The waterfall and decay time graphs are easier to understand.
Thanks

#3 ·
Here is one of the measurements. Before I can get into what to do for corrections, I need to fully understand this graph, which I smoothed at 1/3 to simplify. Taking one item: I read a peak around 70hz. My SPL db was about 80 or 81, so am I correct that I have a +9 db or so peak at 70hz? Then there is the matter of the phase graph. Does it look right? I have other smoothing settings to show more detail, but I wanted to make sure I can read this graph correctly, and I'd like to know what I'm trying to make this graph look like (which I assume is rather flat response thru the frequency bands).