Need Help (Newbie here): Full range speakers, REW and EQ filters - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 13 Old 05-21-14, 03:31 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Need Help (Newbie here): Full range speakers, REW and EQ filters

Hi!

I've read few tutorials here and there concerning REW and Digital Room Correction and most apply to subwoofers only with little to no indication concerning full range speakers.

In my case, using my UMIK-1 (one speaker at a time... and I only have two, no subwoofer) and smoothing up the graph 1/3, I've seen that there are some severe dips and peaks up to 850 hz (most of them are in the 20-250 hz range) mainly due to my room (my speakers being Polk LSiM705, so I could consider them full range 20-20000): without room correction, there is a severe emphasis on bass, some 5-6 dB peaks here and there and some dips in the midbass and midrange.

So I've measured both speakers and they seem to be similar, with some difference here and there but the overall graph is similar and with 3-5 dB of each other, at most. After, I tried to do a filter (well... let's say 10-11 filters), but it seem to apply only to a single speaker and in a such way, it won't take the other speaker when making the filter and while using the convolution engine on JRiver, it doesn't sound right at all.

So, here's my question: how do we manage to take both speakers into consideration with our filter. Do we have to "merge" the measures, and if so, how do we do that? Tutorials were silent about that... or am I mistaken?

Thanks a lot for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-21-14, 05:56 PM
HTS Senior Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Need Help (Newbie here): Full range speakers, REW and EQ filters

Just curious, what tutorials are you talking about?