Time alignment with impulse response - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 6 Old 06-16-14, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Time alignment with impulse response

Hi There
I'm very new to this program and just trying to explore how to do a time alignment reading for my three way active speakers. The crossover is the Behringer DCX2496 but I am not using the built in time alignment function in this device due to it being disabled as a result of a mod.
I have posted a graph of three impulse response passes for bass (operating full range), midrange (filtered at 80 and 3000 hz) and tweeter (high passed at 2000 hz). Obviously these are not the filter settings I normally use.
For each pass the mic remains in exactly the same position approximately 3 meters directly in front of the speaker.
I'm measuring only the left channel and muting and unmuting drivers for each pass.
The attached image displays three perfectly aligned impulses from 3 meters.
Am I correct or is it that I dont know what Im looking at?
Are my three ways already perfectly aligned at the measured position?
I will try to experiment by exaggerating the delay for one of the drivers in the Behringer and see if the change is reflected in the graph.
Attached Thumbnails
Time alignment with impulse response-impulse-reponse.jpg  

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 06-16-14, 06:20 AM
Elite Shackster
Re: Time alignment with impulse response

You need to rethink your approach .

For instance, ( it appears ) you haven't setup a T=0 ( reference channel ) to refer any of the 3 impulses back to .

That's why the program automatically references all three to T=0 ( in the absence of a reference signal/chnl ).

You need a two chnl soundcard ( with the second chnl feeding itself to create the reference time ) to do what you want to do .

FYI, measuring flight of time can not be accomplished ( on REW ) with a USB connected mic ( such as the UMIK-1 ) .

Last edited by EarlK; 06-16-14 at 06:25 AM.