A little different usage for REW analysis - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 5 Old 08-01-14, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
A little different usage for REW analysis

I am an acoustic musician who joined primarily to gain access to REW software for specific testing purposes a little off the beaten path for home theatre discussions. I suspect there are many very savvy people here at this software and your input in my testing process is appreciated.

My testing goal is to see the specific full range acoustic output (fundamentals and partials) of the instruments I play, to allow me to design a system that reproduces them most accurately in amplified format.

Unfortunately, using microphones in a loud environment is not practical, so I am forced to use pickup systems (piezo) for the instruments and EQ them to sound as close as possible to natural. All of the transient attack, and input impedance matching issues with piezo's aside, the goal is to accurately measure the acoustic instrument output and make the amplified sound as close as possible to the natural sound of the instrument.

I have already seen graphic representation on several of the instruments on the display of a Behringer Ultracurve Pro, which indicated significant partials below the lowest fundamental note on my instrument. I am prepping this test in the studio now to avoid room influence on the measurements.

I ordered a USB calibrated mic (UMIK-1) and will start testing when it arrives. After instrument testing, I will test the piezo output in a similar way using very flat response studio monitors with no EQ coloring. The Piezo preamp will have an input impedance of 10 Megohm, so the only other hard issue to control will be the transient attack. Normally this is done with compression, but I want to do the tests both with and without compression to assure there is no big difference in the spectral output.