Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Calibrating my home recording studio

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  Wayne A. Pflughaupt 
#1 ·
Dear hometheatershack community,
I'm a home recording musician from Germany and got the following equipment for mixing:

Notebook: Asus X52DE
Power Amplifier: Sony TA-F470
Speakers: JBL Control 5

I usually use the un-eq-ed output from my notebook, plug it into the AUX IN from the power amp and this signal goes straight to the JBL Control 5 speakers. First, I had some EQ and the LOUDNESS switch turned on (at the power amp). But then I realized, those things have to be turned off because I'm mixing music, so it has to be the "real sound" (linear). But when I did this, the sound became very weak in the bass frequencies. So I bought a Behringer ECM8000 and downloaded the REW from this site to start measuring and then correct the frequency responses by adding EQ filters via APO EQ. But you gotta have 2 calibrations for measuring, one for the mic (already got the file) and one for the soundcard/anything between LINE IN and LINE OUT.

So I've got a Behringer Eurorack UB802 mixer and built up a calibration loop like this:

Notebook Line Out -> Sony Power Amp aux in -> right speaker output -> Behringer mixer right line in input -> back to the notebook input

When I now try to calibrate this signal chain, I can't get the amplitudes of IN and OUT equal. IN is very weak, no matter what I do (if i turn it very loud there is a bit more input but the behringer mixer is already clipping). Also tried to record this input to hear what it sounds like, but also got a very weak white noise. I think this could be because of the microphone input from my notebook. I read that I have to use a USB interface for it, if I just have a microphone input and no line input (but I can't say if it is a "pure" microphone input). Maybe the notebook's microphone IN and line OUT can't function simultaniously?

Could that be the problem?